Sync or delete an outdated fork before contributing

To avoid issues when sending a pull request, make sure that your fork is up to date with the upstream repository before contributing to the documentation.

2 minute read

The first time you make a contribution to the documentation by way of GitHub or Netlify CMS, this creates a copy (fork) of the axway-open-docs repository in your GitHub account.

Since there are other users collaborating with Axway documentation, it is highly likely that your fork will quickly fall behind the upstream repository and you might encounter conflicts the next time you try to send a pull request.

To avoid issues when sending a pull request, you can delete and recreate using the GitHub UI, or synchronize your fork using Git CLI, before starting a new contribution.

Delete and recreate your fork

To delete and recreate your fork before you make a new contribution:

  1. Go to your axway-open-docs fork on GitHub, and click Settings

    https://github.com/YOUR-USERNAME/axway-open-docs
    

    Delete fork Settings

  2. Under Danger Zone, click Delete this repository.

    Delete fork Danger Zone

  3. Follow the Edit on GitHub procedure to start a new contribution, which creates a new fork based on the latest upstream.

To find out more about how to delete your fork, see Deleting a repository.

Sync your fork

You can sync your fork with the latest changes added to the upstream repository, using Git on the command line. For details, see Keep your fork synced.